Ringing in the Season with Studio Gear Holiday Smokey Eye Palette

studio1That’s a mouthful, no? Studio Gear’s Holiday Smokey Eye Palette is a “sultry, shimmery palette of dramatic shades perfect for creating a classic smokey eye look.” The palette contains four eye shadows and a blush to create a multitude of looks. photo 2 (18)

The palette is made of sturdy cardboard. When you open it up, there is a printed tutorial, along with the color layout of the palette. Personally, I think the names of the eye shadows and blush should have been printed below each pigment rich color but I don’t rule the world.

photo 1 (21)

Top colors are Frost & Coal, Middle is Snowy Glow Blush, and the bottom colors are Platinum and Glimmer

photo 3 (18)I tried using the tutorial but  having little patience and plans for the evening, I did what I wanted. I started by using an eye primer (NYX HD Eye Shadow Base) and brushed Platinum all over the lid. I then took my brush and added Coal into the crease. I brought the color around onto the outer part of my lid. I highlighted the brow bone with Frost. The colors were a little icy so I dipped my blender brush in Glimmer and dusted it lightly over everything, while softening the look. Using a fluffy blush brush, I applied a very small amount of Snowy Glow to my cheeks.

I didn't do this.

I didn’t do this.

I did do this.

I did do this.

I think that Studio Gear’s Holiday Smokey Eye Palette is a quality product. The eye shadows and blush are very pigmented. Using minimal amounts had big color pay-off. I had to be careful with the blush, since I am rosy. I really used very little of each color and I think they worked well. I am not sure if the palette is worth $25 on their website but if you want a no-brain smokey eye look, this palette could be for you. Studio Gear is also offering 10% for Product Hoochie readers at StudioGearCosmetics.com. Just enter SGHOLIDAY at checkout. FYI: the code doesn’t expire and is good for your entire order.

photo 2 (20)

Excellent holiday look!

Oh! And if you were wondering why I made myself up on a Wednesday night…

photo 1

Yes, that is Joe Manganiello in the flesh! He was signing his new book Evolution at my local bookstore. He was very gracious, especially when I mentioned I saw him perform in A Streetcar Named Desire. Clearly, my new eye look had something to do with this stare…

photo 2 (21)

This is a sponsored post, powered by BrandBacker. The complimentary sample had no influence on my review.

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

9 thoughts on “Ringing in the Season with Studio Gear Holiday Smokey Eye Palette

Leave a Reply

