Falling into Fragrance- Bergamot’s October Collection

I received my second Bergamot box last Friday and gave myself some time to try each scent in the delivery. I think this month’s selection was better than last’s. Take a sniff.

photo 1 (4)

“Oh! the Indian Summer! it stirs up the flying embers-all the dead days of the year-into momentary new life!” ~Walt Whitman (This quote was in the pamphlet. Love me some Walt.)

October’s Collection is titled Indian Summer.  Since NYC has been trying to kick out those last dregs of humid days (I got a stupid mosquito bite yesterday), I am more than happy to use anything Fall-like.  The fragrances revolve around scents from “Autumn’s kitchen”- ginger, pear, and oolong tea, two are from brands I never heard from and one is available at some mass beauty retailers.

photo 1 (5)

The scent strips that are filed neatly beneath the mini-sprays are a most excellent addition to the box.

I’ll start with the first scent I tried, DSH Perfumes D’Anjou. At first spray I thought, “Ooooh! Freshly washed hair!” Pear, blended with notes of rose, lily, and cyclamen made for a really easy to wear fragrance that smelled so clean and delicious. I sniffed my wrists all day and found that though it did fade, I could smell it faintly. D’Anjou is my favorite out of the three selections for two reason. One- it really is a beautiful scent that is a bit unique and two- it is not overwhelming. The September collection I found to be a bit cloying so this was a refreshing change.

DSH Perfumes D'Anjou

DSH Perfumes D’Anjou

Tuesday morning, I spritzed myself with Ginger Ciao by Yosh. I was uber-excited for this fragrance. Tiger Lily! Ylang Ylang! Ginger! Coconut! A spicy, sweet, floral? It sounds fantastic… BUT it wasn’t for me. I’m not sure if it is my skin chemistry but it really smelled ummm… like Design. I wore Design in the 90s but it was created in 1985 by Paul Sebastian. I found Ginger Ciao to be an opulent scent and a bit strong for my liking.  Maybe the Ylang Ylang really came through on me. I don’t know. I think this may smell gorgeous on someone else and I will be sure to pass it along.

Ginger Ciao by Yosh

Ginger Ciao by Yosh

Last but not least is Oolang Infini by Atelier Cologne. If I had to choose, I would choose D’Anjou but I have already used up half of this sample. Why, you ask? Since it is a cologne, it does not last very long. On the other hand, the dry down is spectacular so I didn’t mind. On first spray, you get hit with citrusy bergamot. Then Atelier Cologne used their noses. The dry down floats into Tunisian orange blossom, and gets edgy with smoke and leather. It is everything I want to smell like.

Atelier Cologne Oolang Infini

Atelier Cologne Oolang Infini

I will wear D’Anjou one more time but thinking about it, Oolang might just be for me! Agh! Decisions, decisions.

What scent do you prefer in the cooler months?

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

One thought on “Falling into Fragrance- Bergamot’s October Collection

  1. Pingback: CHOOSE APPROPRIATE DESIGNER SCENT | markshade01

Leave a Reply

