You $mell Nice.

I will admit that I am somewhat of a fragrance snob. I have had a love for perfume ever since I was a little girl.  I have amassed quite the collection, too. Most of my fragrances are in the $60+ USD price range with a number of them over $100 USD but I also have body sprays that I use during the warmer weather. It seems like a lot of money to spend but one thing is for certain: I choose wisely. I sniff, I spray, I sometimes walk away and come back if I believe I would enjoy a fragrance, I purchase. Scent plays a large part in our lives. It can transport, help us remember, and turn heads and makes you smell good.

Celine Dion performing "Taking Chances&qu...

Celine Dion performing “Taking Chances” at Celine Dion ‘Taking Chances Tour’ Concert @ Bell Centre, Montreal, Canada in August, 2008. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In my last post I mentioned that I purchased two fragrances this week from Walgreens. I paid about $35 USD for both and actually bought them without smelling them. I know! I must be crazy. I happened to come across an article in InStyle Magazine that gave descriptions of over 70 celebrity fragrances (Read the article here).

Shakira Stops By Soundcheck

Shakira Stops By Soundcheck (Photo credit: kindofadraag)

A few caught my eye because with each photo, there was a description of the notes in each bottle. Since Walgreens was having 20% off beauty last week, I thought it a good idea to do a quick look and found they had Celine Dion Signature and Shakira S in stock.

perfume 1

I will begin with Celine Dion Signature. The top note, which catches your attention, but then soon disappears into the heart, is bright and fruity. In fact, I wasn’t sure what to expect at first sniff but I was surprised at how light it smelled. It wasn’t very light but I just didn’t expect a pleasant floral and fruity bouquet. The top notes are mimosa flower, pink lady apples, and guava. The heart, which you probably smell longest in the dry down, are Indian jasmine, rose and magnolia flowers. I have to admit that I didn’t “get” that. It does smell floral but I didn’t catch the rose at all. In fact, the base notes really lingered on me-  musk, amberwood and sandalwood. Even with the musk and amberwood, Celine Dion Signature was not heavy and lasted all day- probably because of the musk. I would even say it was a little spicy. I think the $17.50 US that I paid was a decent investment and I will be wearing it quite a bit come fall.

perfume2

perfume3

Shakira S was a little harder to like for me. It is described as an “oriental-floral” with a top note of jasmine. I love the scent of jasmine and I guess it would be included in “oriental” scents but I don’t pick that up right away. It actually smells very heavy in the bottle and though I know jasmine can be “heavy”, it also carries a lightness. The heart of the fragrance is sandalwood. I happen to like sandalwood. I know it should smell like wood BUT I always think of citrus when giving sandalwood fragrances a sniff. The base notes are amber, benzoin, and vanilla. The base seems to use very complimentary notes and they do come through more throughout the whole fragrance. Shakira S lasted a long time, too, but not quite as long as Celine Dion Signature. I could smell it faintly at the very end of the evening.

perfume4

perfume5

Where would you wear these? Both are definitely day appropriate but I can also see wearing Shakira S for a night out. In terms of “age”, I would say Shakira S might appeal to the younger crowd.

For $35 US, these were worth a try and I have already worn them both a few times. What fragrances do you enjoy? Where do you normally purchase perfume?

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

5 thoughts on “You $mell Nice.

  1. I’ve always wished I could enjoy perfumes. Unfortunately for me almost all perfumes trigger migraines for me. I’ve only found cheap fruity or vanillas that don’t trigger a migraine but I just don’t take the risk of wearing any. In my younger days I was more adventurous but now that my migraines are more painful I don’t even try new fragrances.

Leave a Reply

