Stuff I Tried This Week (The Saga Continues)

And three times is a charm! I have a few things I tried this week that I think you need to know about!

Cutting Tubes

Do you realize how much you waste when you don't cut the bottles?

Do you realize how much you waste when you don’t cut the tubes?

I have cut my tubes before but this week I came to the end of more products. The Aveeno Baby Soothing Relief Moisture Cream is a great buy and is fragrance free. It is an excellent moisturizer and super gentle because it is made for babies! I bought it when I had itchy winter skin on a BOGO and am finishing up my second tube. I cut this tube the other night and there are maybe 3-4 uses left. The Etude House Baking Powder Cleansing Foam Moist was sent with a KollectionK order and I fell in love with it. It gets super foamy and I really feel clean after using it. I bought a full size but by cutting this tube,  I will get a few more washes. FYI: I usually put the leftovers in reusable travel jars but I was feeling lazy. I figure for a few days, these should be fine.

Nuance by Salma Hayek Lights, Camera, Action Eye Trio in Bronze/ Gold Shimmer:

Don't blink or you'll miss it.

Don’t blink or you’ll miss it.

Okay. I got this in an extra FREE Birchbox a few months back and have used it a few times. There is a liquid eye shadow (the bronze product on the left), a white highlighter stick in the middle, and an eye pencil on the right. I recently discovered the eye pencil. It was really wedged in the tube and I finally figured out that it wasn’t only the twist up. Anyhoo, I was disappointed the first few times I used it, especially with the liquid bronze eye shadow. I am still disappointed. Even with a primer, this stuff disappears. Like total David Copperfield. Or Houdini. The eye pencil and white highlighter are okay, though.

Shadow, highlighter, pencil (me in.)

Shadow, highlighter, pencil (me in.)

Drugstore Perfume (or eau de toilette): I have enough fragrance to open a store but when I was getting a pedicure last week, I found an article about celebrity perfume. I have a dirty little secret. I wear Usher for Woman. I love Usher as a musician- he is super talented- but, man, his perfume?! My sister, Shazzer, bought me a bottle for Christmas and told me that I was going to be surprised. I wear it. A lot. Back to celebrity fragrance… after reading the article, a few of the fragrance notes caught my eye and I decided I would give them a sniff. Walgreens had 20% off beauty this week and I managed to find Celine Dion Signature and S by Shakira. I won’t get into them now (expect a full review sometime this week) BUT I think you need to check out your local drugstore for fragrances. I also got both for about $35 US.

Near... far... my hips don't lie.

\ Near… far… my hips don’t lie.

A Sock Bun

I am growing out my hair and am getting bored with it. That usually means that I would chop it all off BUT I am trying not to. The reason: sock buns. I love the way they look and they seem easy to do. I bought a two pack of medium size sock bun makers (?) at 5 Below  two weeks ago and used it today. The concept is simple. Put your hair in a ponytail high on your head. Then take the sock bun maker (I really have no idea what to call it. You would think I’d look it up.) and pull your ponytail through it. Tuck the ends around the doughnut looking thing and you have a bun! My hair stayed all day and looked pretty good. The picture is proof- I took it at the end of the day.

I've got buns.

I’ve got buns.

That’s it for now. I wonder what I will tell you about next Sunday!

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

2 thoughts on “Stuff I Tried This Week (The Saga Continues)

Leave a Reply

