Stuff I Tried This Week (Episode II)

I am trying to decide if I should continue with the “Stuff I Tried This Week” posts.  I use a lot of different products and I guess mini-reviews of certain ones might be good. Sometimes a bit of snap judgement is better. Let’s have a look at the lot, shall we?

If you think I am totally faithful to beauty products, you haven't read much of this blog.

If you think I am totally faithful to beauty products, you haven’t read much of this blog.

Kevyn Aucoin The Eyelash Curler ($21 US): I actually received this in the Barneys Beauty Bag last fall and put it away because the one beauty item that I have not changed in over ten years must be my Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler. They have been harder to come by since Shu Uemura is no longer sold in stores in the USA. (You can still order them online.) Anyway, I got the Aucoin and figured “what the heck?” I have to say that it is a good eyelash curler. It doesn’t have as much tension as the Shu Uemura but it does a better than decent job of curling my lashes. I also like that the lash pad is red so you can see that you get all your lashes under the clamp (terrible word.) I will use this until I can no longer use it or I will switch it up with my spare Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler. (Come on. I made sure I ordered one before they disappeared from the shores!)

See the red lash pad?

See the red lash pad?

Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer ($30 US): Before I get into this one, I have to tell you that Too Faced now makes two chocolate soleil bronzers, one called “milk chocolate” and one that is “medium/ deep.” I think this falls into the latter category but I bought this mini one around Christmas from Sephora. It was maybe $15 US and came with an adorable travel brush. This bronzer really is natural looking and has no orange undertones or shimmer (the sun makes you golden, not gold trophy-esque!). There is a slight scent of chocolate but it is pleasant and not overpowering.  I got into using Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer this summer and I love it. I brush it along the perimeter of my face with a medium brush. I read somewhere (I think Allure) that you should do this in “tight” circles and not use a fluffy brush.

The top right picture is with flash and bottom without.

The top right picture is with flash and bottom without.

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer aka “The Luminizer” ($24 US): I ordered this from HauteLook during their last The Balm cosmetics sale. I think I paid $12 US. (There is actually The Balm on HauteLook now until Monday 8 AM Pacific Time. Go to my “Tell Them I Sent Ya” page for a referral link.)  I was a little afraid when I saw this because it is serious shimmer. It is very pigmented and a little does go a long way but it really is pretty. When I do my bronzer trick, I lightly apply this Mary on the bridge of my nose and on the apples of my cheeks. It really lights up the face and doesn’t look chalky.

Get detained for being cute. Bottom picture is no flash.

Get detained for being cute. Bottom picture is no flash.

Wet n Wild Pop Art Craze Limited Edition Color Icon Eye Shadow Trio in Hard Being the It Girl ($2.99 US): I was really excited to find these at Walgreens for $2.99 a trio. The colors are vibrant and fun. I also like how the trios aren’t all “wild” colors and have a neutral thrown in. I think a neutral makes them more wearable. Hard Being the It Girl has a beige for the lid, a blue for the crease, and pink for the browbone. I used Too Faced Shadow Insurance and followed right along. I know a lot of reviewers love Wet n Wild eye shadows but in all honestly, I don’t.  I think there is quite a bit of fall out and you need to use a lot of product to get big color. This is maybe the third or fourth set of WnW eye shadows I have purchased and I just don’t find them to be as great as the rest of the line.  I will use this palette and will just be more heavy handed but in my (humble) opinion, it isn’t the best.

Left and middle pictures are with flash. I didn't flash the one on the right.

Left and middle pictures are with flash. I didn’t flash the one on the right.

Wet n Wild Ultimate Brow Kit in Ash Brown ($3.99 US): I do my own eyebrows and decided I should start filling them in here and there since some parts are a bit sparse. I picked this up because it has two shades of brown and I blend both to get a good match for my caterpillars. The little hard angle brush actually does a decent job, though I find I need to soften the color with my fingertip. The soft wax helps keep brows in place and the little tweezers are great for strays- though I’m not really sure how well they work since I have my regular tweezer nearby.

The kit is a little hard to open and the mirror is hidden on the side and slides out.

The kit is a little hard to open and the mirror is hidden on the side and slides out.

What do you think of my experiments this week? Have you tried anything new?

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

34 thoughts on “Stuff I Tried This Week (Episode II)

  1. I was contemplating between Too Faced Chocolate de Soleil orrrrrr Chanel Les Beige hahaha but this one is so much cheaper plus I was using Sun Bunny before so I know how good Too Faced bronzer is…anyways, loving the products you have tried this week 😉

  2. Wow.. lovely products. I’m particularly interested about the Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer and the Wet n Wild palate. Absolutely loving the packaging of Mary-Lou Manizer. So vintage-y! ❤

    • They have changed the bronzers a bit. Too Faced now has a milk chocolate bronzer which is probably better for fairer skin tones. Mary-Lou Manizer is a great product but I have found a decent dupe in Wet n Wild’s Reserve Your Cabana Bronzing Powder.

Leave a Reply

