Lipstick L<3ve!

Ah, lipstick. Can’t live with it, can’t live without it. Lip products have been my favorite cosmetic item(s) since I was a kid. My very first lipstick was a tube of Brucci purple lipstick.  The obsession continues and I have enough lip glosses, tints, sticks, wands, balms, creams, stains, tars, etc. to probably span the globe. This post is an ode to my love for lippies and I am sharing my favorite lip stuffs (!) of the summer.

A few weeks ago I blogged about Almay Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm. It is a glossy balm that is sweet and sheer. You can build them up for more color payout, too. I recently bought Apricot Pucker and I think it might just be my favorite in the line. (I own four, okay?)

Almay Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm in Apricot Pucker.

Almay Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm in Apricot Pucker.

I only have on a thin layer and my lighting isn’t the best but can you see that pop of color?

Hey! It's me!

Hey! It’s me!

Lindz, the Girl in the Glasses, was kind enough to do a semi-swap with me fairly recently. I sent her some requests and she sent me some lipsticks from KIKO  MAKE UP MILANO. I find it ridiculous we can’t get KIKO here yet. Trust me, I asked. Of course, I wanted the Smart Lipstick. Lindz sent me two to try, #912 Crimson Red and #904 Strawberry Pink. I was very excited when they made it to my mailbox.

How smart are they?

How smart are they?

The case is super sturdy and looks pretty fabulous. I kind of avoided taking a full pick of the case because this post is pic-heavy as is.

#912 Crimson Red & #904 Strawberry Pink

#912 Crimson Red & #904 Strawberry Pink

Let’s talk Crimson Red. It is not super crimson red and it errs on more of a pink. In fact, I thought it would have had a pink name but I am not necessarily great at naming colors. Eh. The color is very daytime friendly and that makes me happy.

This is like your worst nightmare. You know, like that crazy aunt that wants to kiss you close-up shot.

This is like your worst nightmare. You know, like that crazy aunt that wants to kiss you close-up shot.

Next up is #904 Strawberry Pink. I love this color. I actually favored #912 but this quickly became my favorite. The color is just summer perfect and isn’t too warm or cool. I can’t wear cool pinks. I look terrible. This shade is just plain pretty and feels great on the lips.

Some summer punch!

Some summer punch!

Since neither shade is matte or super shiny, they make for an easy look. The colors are both buildable, so you can work them up in you need to.  The lipsticks aren’t thick so your lips don’t feel coated. Application is very smooth. If you are in Europe, find a KIKO store and buy them!

The final color I am obsessed with (this week) is Tarte Complexion Brightening Lipstick in Medium-to-Tan. I have a few Tarte lipsticks and they are excellent. I received  this in my June GlossyBox and it is delightful.

tartenude1

Case love!

Smooth and creamy,Tarte Complexion Brightening Lipstick in Medium-to-Tan has a berry jelly core and is surrounded by a natural nude. I have a hard time finding a natural color that doesn’t make me look washed out and this does the trick.

Does this look naughty? Swatched on my hand and on my lips.

Does this look naughty? Swatched on my hand and on my lips.

It is also difficult to find. I googled it and see it is available on QVC in a pack of both shades. I wouldn’t say that this is the longest lasting lipstick but if you want a “naked” face without being a total nudie, this is worth a try.

Lips! Lips! Lips!

Lips! Lips! Lips!

What are some of your favorite summer lip looks? I am obviously onto the nudes and pinks this season!

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

14 thoughts on “Lipstick L<3ve!

  1. I knew you would like the Kiko Smart Lipsticks! I was pleasantly surprised by them myself. Next time I go down to Nürnberg I can pick up more stuff for you if you’d like, just let me know. I want to give that Tarte lipstick a try but I think they are only available through QVC.

  2. Obsessed with Almay liquid lip balms…as you know! I might just have to pick up that shade 🙂 I have always wanted to try a Tarte lipstick! I have heard amazing things about them I am just not the biggest fan of the packaging.

Leave a Reply

