Summer Lids & Lips

Hey all! I hope that the week went well for you. I had a fabulous getaway with the hubs this week. We went to Atlantic City, NJ. It is a small city beside the Atlantic Ocean and there is great outlet shopping and gambling. Not that I think gambling is necessarily good but is great fun in moderation, especially if you win! While we were away, I only brought one eye shadow palette (shocking!) and four different lip products to vary up my look.

An entry in the annual Sand Sculpting Competition- Atlantic City, NJ.

An entry in the annual Sand Sculpting Competition- Atlantic City, NJ.

First up is Too Faced Summer Eyes palette ($36 US).  I picked it up at the Brooklyn Make-Up Studio at their last event and have been meaning to write a review about it for quite some time.  I even have pictures ready-  but just kept waiting. Anyway, I really got some great use out of it this week. I actually have no swatches (bad PH!) but I have a dupe for some of the colors.

Summer Eyes!

Summer Eyes!

Back of the pack.

Back of the pack.

There are three sets of colors (DAY, CLASSIC, & FASHION) with three colors each. The largest pan in usually for the lid all the way up to the brow, the color next to it for the lid, and the third color for the crease and lower lashes. Using the colors in each row makes for an easy eye look or you can mix and match. The palette also comes with a pamphlet that demonstrates different looks you can create using the eye shadows.

Easy Eye Looks

Easy Eye Looks

Do you like how the shirt you see in the reflection has a tropical drink print?

Do you like how the shirt you see in the reflection has a tropical drink print?

My personal favorite is CLASSIC but I think DAY is a lot of fun and for a daily look, is a bit different from my usual neutrals. I wore FASHION one night and my husband commented on how glittery I was. Sunbeam is very glittery but not so much that it falls all over your face. Application is good, I had no trouble with fallout, and I like how put together the shades are. Well done, Too Faced! As for a dupe, Avon True Color Eye Shadow Sunkissed Duo with Shell & Refreshing Coral reminds me of the CLASSIC colors. I also paid about $3 US for it.

Not bad for 3 bucks.

Not bad for 3 bucks.

On my lips, I constantly had Almay’s Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm ($5.99 US) in either Rosy Lipped (which is the perfect glossy barely-there nude for me) or Just Plum Good.

Almay Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm in Rosy Lipped & Just Plum Good.

Almay Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm in Rosy Lipped & Just Plum Good.

I found that I could apply Rosy Lipped at any point in time with no mirror and I got a hint of color and great shine. Just Plum Good reminded me of Clinique’s Almost Lipstick in Black Honey, though a bit more purple. I found that I needed to apply a lot, as the sheer formula can fade, especially the lighter color. Either way, both colors are great and I can’t wait to try a few more.

Top picture without flash- Rosy Lipped (top color) & Just Plum Good (Bottom Color)

Top picture without flash- Rosy Lipped (top swatch) & Just Plum Good

If I wanted more lasting power or pigment, I reached for Rimmel London’s Show Off Lip Laquer (called Apocalips in Europe if you have seen them floating around other blogs)  in Luna or Aurora. You can see the color at the very bottom of the tube so you have an idea of what you are buying.

Rimmel London Show Off Lip Lacquer in Luna (L) & Aurora (R).

Rimmel London Show Off Lip Lacquer in Luna (L) & Aurora (R).

I wore Aurora to a wedding last weekend and got a few compliments. I found Luna to be a bit more day friendly. The feel is very comfortable and soft. It is also not super glossy so the lasting power was better than Almay’s liquid lip balm but it did need to be reapplied after drinks or dinner. Oh! The doe foot applicator has a well that holds more product so you don’t have to constantly re-dip for more product. I think it works well but you need to wipe the wand a little to make application a little neater.

All's well that ends well. (This is Luna.)

All’s well that ends well. (This is Luna.)

For about $4.99 US, it is worth a try.

Top without flash. Luna (top swatch) and Aurora.

Top without flash. Luna (top swatch) and Aurora.

What do you think of some of my summer picks? I also need to get a new waterproof mascara. I am using Maybelline Falsies but it is drying up fast. I also have to finish my Giorgio Armany Eyes to Kill- can’t waste that!

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

2 thoughts on “Summer Lids & Lips

Leave a Reply

