Sample This! My First Taker!

Hey, pretty! I hope all is well with you. I am trucking along, enjoying summer vacation and getting some posts in. I really love when I have time to write- and test products! A few weeks ago, Julie of Short & Sweet in Texas, emailed me regarding Sample This! I’ve had the offer of sending out samples for some time and didn’t have any takers until Julie.

Julie requested hair products that would be good for thick, wavy hair. She “broke up” with her flat iron and wanted to find some products that are wavy hair friendly. I gave up my flat iron about six years ago. In fact, I don’t own a blow dryer, either. My hair is so nice curly and so much healthier, so Julie, I salute you!

Julie had tried a number of products including Aveda Pure Abundance Volumizing Hair Spray, Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine Leave in Conditioning Cream, Organix Argan Oil & Shea Butter Weightless Oil, and Garnier Fructis Anti-Humidity Volumizing Hair Spray. She requested leave-in conditioning product(s) and then let me have free reign. I emailed her, asking if she had more wave or loose curl and she sent me a picture:

Gorgeous head of hair!

Gorgeous head of hair!

Her hair just looks so healthy and thick. I got right into my products. I figured that Julie could use some hydration and needed a little something to help define and control the wave. Here is what I came up with:

Of course I added lace nail decals and a hand candy. (You should stop by Julie's blog to check out her nail skills.)

Of course I added lace nail decals and a hand candy. (You should stop by Julie’s blog to check out her nail skills.)

Phyto Intense Hydrating Shampoo.

Quidad Moisture Lock Define & Shine Curl Styling Gel Cream for Wavy Loose Curls

Nexus Youth Renewal Elixir (I didn’t have argan oil so this was a close second.)

I also passed along a few surprises. Julie got the package earlier in the week and sent me her feedback this past weekend. Here are her thoughts!

Ouidad Moisture Lock Define & Shine Curl Styling Gel-Cream

“First off, I’m not the biggest fan of hair gels or gel like products. I didn’t think to mention it when I first emailed you though, and I decided to try this one anyway since it called itself a “gel-cream” (which is something I’ve never tried, so why not?) That beings said I didn’t really care for this one. Again, gels are really not my thing, but I felt very conscious of this product the whole time it was in my hair. Maybe I used too much or something but this left my hair feeling “product-y”. It wasn’t really stiff like many gels I’ve tried, but it did feel a little sticky throughout the day even after it was technically dry. Since growing my hair out from a next to nothing pixie style I play with my hair a lot so touchable tresses are important to me. For people that like gels though this product would probably be great, and I did like the lack of stiffness. Because seriously, nobody likes crunchy curls or waves right?”

I totally agree with having touchable hair. I think a plain hair cream would probably do a better job, as opposed to a gel/cream concoction. I have tried and liked Neutrogena Triple Moisture Silk Touch Leave-In Hair Cream, which is available at Wal-Mart and won’t break the bank. I also found Aussie Miraculously Smooth Anti-Frizz Hair Cream and Not Your Mother’s Kinky Moves Curl Defining Hair Cream. I really want to try the latter myself.

Phyto Paris Phytojoba Intense Hydrating Shampoo

I loved this! It had a great scent and left my hair feeling clean and hydrated without being greasy. I would definitely purchase a full size bottle of this one.

Ding! Ding! Ding! We have a winner! Phyto is serious hair care and I am so happy this shampoo provided the kind of hydration Julie needed. I also suggest Miss Jessie’s Super Slip Sudsy Shampoo.

Nexxus Youth Renewel Rejuvenating Hair Elixir

I also really liked this. The packaging was definitely unique – (I’ve never used a hair product that came in a tiny bottle with an eyedropper dispenser before) – and it works very well for dispensing the product. The product itself has a nice fragrance and made my hair soft and manageable throughout the day. Would consider buying in full size.

Another winner! I had received that sample but was afraid it might weigh my hair down. Though my hair is curlier, Julie’s hair is thicker. I also would suggest Amika Obliphica Oil Treatment. I use it myself, as it light and non-greasy but I think it would work for Julie.

I think my first customer of Sample This! was a success! If you are interested in receiving some stuff from my stash, check out the Sample This! tab at the top of the page.

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

2 thoughts on “Sample This! My First Taker!

Leave a Reply

