Eyes To Kill… Scary.

Back in December I ordered a few things from Giorgio Armani Cosmetics. I reviewed their Eyes to Kill Intense Eyeshadow and was not impressed. (Click here to read the post.) I also managed to purchase a tube of Eyes to Kill Mascara in black. It was $30 US and way more than I would ever spend on mascara but I heard so many fantastic things about it that I had to try it. Let’s take a look…

First off, the name. I love the word kill. It has so many meanings and I usually think of it positively as opposed to the other definition. The tube is pretty hefty- it has a bit of weight behind it. The mascara promises to be volumizing and add length for a “glamorous and seductive eye- look.”

The name makes me think of Duran Duran.

The name makes me think of Duran Duran.

The brush is big though it is not impossible to deal with. I do find it a bit challenging to get to the inner and outer lashes. I do so very carefully. I find the texture to be a bit thick and if you don’t apply quickly, you can get spidery lashes.

Squirrel tail?

Squirrel tail?

Keep in mind, I applied this tonight after I got home and washed up. I am a little ridiculous but I wanted you to see the mascara without curled lashes. Don’t worry- I got that covered, too.

Top is a side by side. Left is without mascara, right is with mascara.

Top is a side by side. Left is without mascara, right is with mascara.

As you can see, even with one coat, there can be a spidery effect. I think if the formula wasn’t super thick, I wouldn’t be emulating Tammy Faye. I must admit that Eyes to Kill does not flake and it does last without running in NYC humidity. I haven’t tried it in a rainstorm but mascara I don’t sweat through is a plus. Here is a picture of me taken about seven hours after application. It holds up pretty well.

I also have on Tatiana Tarantino Eye Dream Hyperliner in CuteRobot. It is pretty fantastic.

I curled my lashes first. I also have on Tatiana Tarantino Eye Dream Hyperliner in CuteRobot. It is pretty fantastic.

Would I recommend Eyes to Kill Mascara? I wouldn’t. I think that you can find comparable mascara at less of a price. L’Oreal Voluminous is still my favorite at a third of the cost. I actually am kind of annoyed at super pricey cosmetics. The Tom Ford cosmetics line doesn’t impress me as much as his fragrance and I think Armani follows suit. If they want to charge consumers a lot of money, their products better deliver. I’m really not seeing that here. I’m not saying it is a bad product but it will need to be thrown out in three months and $30 US is a lot to spend on something so disposable.

If you want another mascara review, check out another post by clicking here.

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

Related articles

9 thoughts on “Eyes To Kill… Scary.

  1. I would be so mad if I bought a product for $30 and it didn’t work, especially if all the reviews said how amazing it was. Mascara is always strictly a drugstore item for me, just because I know there are so many great drugstore brands out there. I’ve never used the L’Oreal Voluminous, but my mom uses it all the time and loves it.

  2. I don’t know if I could do $30 for a mascara, knowing it isn’t going to be in my arsenal for very long. I have heard this is amazing, so I keep holding out hope that I’ll land a sample of it one of these days!

  3. Voluminous has been my go to for at least 10 years now. I’ve tried so many other mascaras (after a failed attempt with a MAC mascara I just can’t spend that kind of money) and nothing ever works as well. This review makes me never want to stray again!

Leave a Reply

