Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector Oil-Free BB Cream… Not for the Greasy!

garnierBB

I’ve said it before and I will say it again- I am a greasy beast. So I was excited when BzzAgent.com sent me a complimentary full size tube of Garnier’s Miracle Skin Perfector Oil-Free BB Cream. The BB cream is the third Garnier product I received for free from BzzAgent and the two other products, Olia and Garnier Skin Renew Dark Spot Peel, were terrific…

The Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector Oil-Free BB Cream is a new formulation. When I purchased Garnier’s original BB cream formulation last year, it was too thick and a bit too oily for my skin. The shades available also were not friendly. The light/medium was a bit too dark and the medium/dark I hear is too light for some with darker complexions.( In fact, a friend of mine that is of Mediterranean descent wears the medium/dark and for her olive tone it seems to work well- that still does not make room for everyone else!) I tend to err on the medium side during the spring and summer months, making it difficult to use Garnier BB Cream during the cooler months. Anyway, I gave the original tube away a loooong time ago and when given the opportunity to try the new formula, I could not pass it up.

This is the before. No make-up, nada.

This is the before. No make-up, nada.

The tube is your basic squeeze tube. It contains 2.0 ounces of product. On first squirt, the cream dispensed is a bit watery and is thinner than the original. (I also noticed that the smell is not that noticeable- which is good. Garnier can be a bit heavy on fragrance.) I was actually okay with the product’s consistency, as I figured this would mean the product definitely had little or no oil in it.

The box and all the info you need.

The box and all the info you need.

Application was fine. Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector Oil-Free BB Cream doesn’t have the most coverage but that works for me. I am lucky enough to have good skin genes. Once I really blended the BB cream, it simply evened out my skintone. I have big pores and I found that the cream did not cover them well- I noticed the small openings looking in my mirror.

A little dab will do ya.

A little dab will do ya.

Now, here is the rub: it made my skin super oily. I mean, when I blotted my face as I normally do, I used at least 3-5 blotting papers. I blotted my face three times over the course of seven hours- and I am talking 3-4 blotting sheets each time. Keep in mind, I did not use a primer under or add powder over my initial application, but I don’t usually with the Missha BB Cream I use most often. I also got a small pimple on my forehead.

The after- my face actually looks pretty matte and even. It was a few hours later that I looked different...

The after- my face actually looks pretty matte and even. It was a few hours later that I looked different…

I decided to give Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector Oil-Free BB Cream another try, even with the pimple. I thought the first try was a fluke. I am sorry to say that this is not the case. I am so nervous about clogged pores and all the excess oil that I used a Dead Sea mask tonight.  Should I give this BB cream another try? I hate to give up on it but I really think it isn’t for me. Thoughts?

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

8 thoughts on “Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector Oil-Free BB Cream… Not for the Greasy!

  1. I was going to try this, but now that I’ve read your review I’m going to keep using Stila’s HD Beauty Balm to avoid running into an oil issue. I’ve got super sensitive combination skin and even though I’ve heard so many great things about this particular Beauty Balm, I’m not going to waste the money unless I know I can return it or give it to someone else if it doesn’t work for me.

    Well done review. Very thorough.

  2. Nice review! Haven’t tried this one – I’ve been using Maybelline’s BB cream for a while now and I really like it.

Leave a Reply

