Your Lips Look Just Smashing!

I think I have always wanted to say the above words my entire life. I can’t imagine using the word “smashing” but it’s really cool and I may just have to add it to my permanent vocabulary. Of course, I was up at the crack ass of dawn (sorry) and now that I have been awake for almost two hours, with no hope of going back to sleep, I figured I would catch up with another post. I have a thing for lip stains. I like them. I like how they look like you just ate a piece of fruit and it colors the lip slightly. I also like how lip stains last- they take little effort and don’t constantly need to be reapplied.

smashbox cosmetics backstage

smashbox cosmetics backstage (Photo credit: yago1.com)

I ordered Smashbox Long Wear Lip Color in Whirl from Beauty.com. I love Smashbox products. They are high quality and always have great color options. I read about this lip color and was more than curious since it is a lip tint with the possible coverage of lipstick.

Can fit in your pocket!

Can fit in your pocket!

When I was choosing my shade, I thought I would go for a nude-pink. I am into pretty, natural lips now and I ordered Whirl. On Beauty.com, it looked pink.  Looking at the packaging, you really would think it was pink…

The box swatch looks pink to me. The lipstick doesn't look THAT pink. Should I get my eyes checked?

The box swatch looks pink to me. The lipstick doesn’t look THAT pink. Should I get my eyes checked?

Looking at the actual product, it looks more orange to me with a bit of pink. I’m not saying I don’t like the color, it just wasn’t what I expected. I wore this color for a few days at work. No one really noticed, which is odd since I always manage to get some commentary about cosmetics I wear. Since no one said anything, I figured that this was a good color to wear daily. It is pretty without being overwhelming.

Au natural- this is one swipe. The color can be built upon for more va-va-vavoom.

Au natural- this is one swipe. The color can be built upon for more va-va-vavoom.

As for the texture, it was pleasant to apply and once it was on, I didn’t feel it. The coverage is more stain than lipstick, which surprised me a bit because it really went on creamier than a stain. The creaminess did not last. Though it did not dry my out, it didn’t moisturize either. I mean, a stain doesn’t moisturize anyway so it isn’t a big deal. I also kind of forgot I had it on and when I went to blot my face, I was surprised it stayed on my lips.   I didn’t need a touch up after two hours but this was without eating and drinking.

Barely there color.

Barely there color.

I think Smashbox Long Wear Lip Color is a decent product. I have to say I like the Be Legendary lipsticks better but for an easy make-up look that lasts, this product will do the trick.

Smashbox Megatint Long Wear Lip Color $20 US comes in six shades and  is available at Sephora and Smashbox.com

Leave a Reply

