Good-Bye Gray!

First, this is my 100th POST! Whoop, Whoop! I guess I should be celebrating a bit but I won’t dedicate a whole post to just being the 100th. I think the 100th post should be about a product. (Duh.) BUT  before I get into the latest PH adventure, I would like to thank all the people that check me out and read my bits and pieces. I genuinely hope you enjoy my posts and get a laugh at my beauty product antics. And now, I may have to say good-bye because MY AUNT IS GOING TO KILL ME.

Olia Lialina

Olia Lialina (Photo credit: Wikipedia)I hired a musician to celebrate 100 posts!

Well, not really.

My aunt dyes my hair every seven weeks or so. My hair grows fast and I should go a little more frequently but I hate using time in the salon. Not that I mind spending time with my aunt but the application, her telling me my roots are ridiculous (her honesty is really the best. I am serious), the application, development, the wash, the glaze, the rinse, the cut- a girl could go insane. I decided I would dye my hair myself this month.

My Before: I was not having a good morning. Nope. Not at all.

My Before: I was not having a good morning. Nope. Not at all.

It all started when I became a member of BzzAgent.com. It’s a website where you take very easy surveys and get free products. There was a BzzCampaign for a box of Garnier‘s new hair dye Olia. It is permanent, which means it will need to grow out. I have to go out this evening and my roots were NOT good, so before I head out for the day, I decided to get rid of the gray.

Courtesy of BzzAgent and Garnier

Courtesy of BzzAgent and Garnier

I picked up 6.0 Light Brown. My aunt made my color a little more red the last time she did it and I liked it but I got bored (typical). Olia is an “oil powered formula” and there is no ammonia. With a 60% oil blend and flower oils, it is supposed to create vivid color without being rough. Okay. Doesn’t sound tough enough to me, but whatever.

Oila Light Brown 6.0- I think I picked this because it is 6.0.

Oila Light Brown 6.0- I think I picked this because it is 6.0. Nail polish is Color Club in Disco Dress.

There were three tubes in the box and a pod looking thing with a pointy top. One tube is the developer, the others are the colorant and the after color conditioner. There were also black gloves. Fancy, no?  Instructions as usual: put on gloves (which are always way too small for my ginormous hands),take the tip off the black applicator, put the developer and color in the jar/ pod-looking thing (if you’re fancy you can do this simultaneously- if you haven’t had your coffee yet, don’t), put the applicator on the jar, cover the tip with your finger and shake it up. Apply away! Start at the roots, cover everything, and SATURATE your head.

There are my roots. As you can see, those shimmery things are the gray hairs that need to be annihilated.

These are my roots. As you can see, those shimmery things are the gray hairs that need to be annihilated.

Easy enough, right?

In the box!

In the box!

As I mixed the color, I sniffed everything. I didn’t detect any scent in the developer or the color tube. Together, it smelled faintly floral but it was in no way obnoxious. The texture was creamy but not thick. In fact, it kind of reminded me of Dannon yogurt. It went on easy and it wasn’t messy. I was shocked. It didn’t drip all over me and my bathroom didn’t look like I tried to paint it. As it sits on my head (yep, right now), I don’t feel a tingle and I don’t have a headache from the strong odor like other dyes. I hope this stuff works.

As you can see, my hand is stretching out the glove. My hands are HUGE- they are bigger than my husband's. Ridiculous.

As you can see, my hand is stretching out the glove. My hands are HUGE- they are bigger than my husband’s. Ridiculous. Oh and you can insert an inappropriate joke here.

<<Beep! Beep>> There goes the microwave timer.  Time to rinse.

I got in the shower and carefully stuck my head under the water and just got a little onto my hair. I rubbed the color in a bit more, added more water, rubbed. Then I rinsed. I don’t think it took a long time to get all the color out. I put on the conditioner- it is a generous tube, so use what you think is the right amount. I let that sit as I washed the rest of me. I then combed my conditioned head and rinsed. I styled my hair as usual.

What I noticed: my hair didn’t feel as crispy as it does with other home color kits. It doesn’t smell awful, either. I think it did come out a tad darker than I would have liked but it’s fine.

In natural sunlight on a Brooklyn street.

In natural sunlight on a Brooklyn street.

As for coverage: it seems to have covered my grays enough.

Indoor light, no flash.

Indoor light, no flash.

I think if you want to try Olia, go ahead. I know that I found it for $9.99 US, which isn’t too terrible. I think if you want permanent dye without ammonia, this could work for you.

Thanks to BzzAgent and Garnier for sending my Olia free of charge for guinea pig purposes.

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

8 thoughts on “Good-Bye Gray!

Leave a Reply

