GlossyBox a No Go

Why is it that when I buy a beauty subscription it seems to go downhill? I apologize to those of you that have ordered a GlossyBox subscription since my raves. The last few I received were not that great, with the exception of the Man Repeller box. Man Repeller curated an excellent box. Maybe I am being too hard on GlossyBox. I mean, they are fairly new stateside and are better than Birch Box (and maybe ipsy, too) but at $21 a month, the cost of both ipsy and Birch Box combined.

The one thing GlossyBox does differently is that there is a magazine included. I find a number of editing problems in the publication and I rarely find the products in my GlossyBox being featured in with tips and tricks.

Glossy Mag!

Glossy Mag!

There is also the postcard with the list of products. February’s theme is “International Style.” I think they followed through.

Postcard is airmail. Soap keeps you clean.

Postcard is airmail. Soap keeps you clean.

BVLGARI Eau Parfumee Au The Blanc Soap: I stayed at Le Blanc Spa Resort in Cancun during my honeymoon. I loved it there. In the bath, there were Bvlgari The Blanc products. It smelled clean and delightful. The scent of the soap is very strong and the entire box is fragrant… a little too fragrant. I’m not even sure I can use such a strongly perfumed product. (Full Size $30 US)

Nail Rock Nail Wraps: I like Nail Wraps. These are a but more funky and a little scary. Mine have eyeballs and ghosts. (Full Set $8 US)

Maybe I will save these for Halloween.

Maybe I will save these for Halloween.

Missha Super Aqua Cell Renew Snail Hydro Gel Mask: I have no idea what this does. The ingredients make me a little nervous. It is supposed to be healing. I’ll let you know. (One packet $6 US)

Escargot for my face.

Escargot for my face.

Da Vinci Cosmetics Shimmer Powder in Wild Lilac: This pigment is a pretty purple. It really is meant to be used as a highlighter. I rarely go for loose mineral pigments- way too messy- but I might try this. (Full Size $15 US)

Da Vinci will paint my face.

Da Vinci will paint my face.

LISI Sheer Sparkle Lip Gloss in Bryant Park: A glittery pink,  though I’m not quite sure how pigmented, as glitter gloss is not necessarily something I normally would wear. Maybe I will throw it on this weekend. (Full Size $7 US)

LISI on the lips.

LISI on the lips.

All in all, I guess this month’s box isn’t all that terrible. At least there are three full size products, not counting the Missha mask. I also feel like some of the products, like the pigment and gloss, really aren’t for me. I’m also not so sure about the Nail Rocks, too. I like fun nails but these just aren’t my style. We will see what gets delivered at the end of the month.

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

15 thoughts on “GlossyBox a No Go

  1. Did you try the snail mask sample? I couldn’t do it lol so I’m glad I didn’t get this in my box. We got such different boxes again! I wonder how they determine who gets what

  2. I find that with these type of subscriptions you don’t get what you want but they give you what they want. I honestly prefer to spend more money and get what I really want

  3. Same here in Ireland (I get the UK one) they just go up and down, last few havn’t bee great!? And I’m still waiting after 3 weeks on a free box I was ment to recieve as part of an offer

Leave a Reply

