I’ve Gone to De-Pot.

Hello fellow Product Hoochies. I hope the weekend has treated you well. It’s Sunday and I am on the verge of doing nothing. I finally received some Z Palettes this week. I’ve been holding off but last week, as I was cleaning the boudoir, I realized I had several palettes that I never use and for good reason: they really are big and cumbersome. Annoyed with myself for letting these eye shadow, lip, and blush palettes go unused for so long (actually they look never used), I decided to order some magnetic palettes. I want them all in one place and I had read some good reviews on Z Palettes so I figured, “What’s another couple of bucks if I am trying to use up my make-up?” So I invested about $60 and bought three Z Palettes, small, medium, and large. I also bought some extra magnets, though the palettes come with some. I set out this morning to de-pot and started to get the pans out of the palettes.

Z Palettes. Fun, fun, fun.

Z Palettes. Fun, fun, fun.

I started by watching a few de-potting methods on YouTube. I know I can be long winded but one method, which I thought looked easy, I had to stop watching because the de-potting “guru” explained things that were not relevant. I asked Lindz, my friend over at Girl in the Glasses, if she ever de-potted and she told me the flat iron was an easy method but to get wax or parchment paper. I picked up both, only to discover I gave my flat iron away. #Curlyhairproblems

I have FOUR massive palettes to put in the Z Palettes.

Cumbersome palettes

Cumbersome palettes

One is a Tarina Tarantino, which came in a pretty silver jewelry box. There are 16 small circular eye shadows. Though the actual eye shadows are in metal pans, they are glued into foam. I ripped off the fancy silver paper and proceeded to bend the foam. Most of the shadows popped out pretty easily and a few are out and just need a small piece of circular foam removed. No heat required.

Tearing into Tarina

Tearing into Tarina

The next palette I started to de-pot was by POP Beauty. There are color groups, though each color is in a separate rectangular pan. The shadows are only glued into paper and I managed to get a few out, sans heat, unscathed. Some of them broke but I’m not crying over it, as I have so many eye shadows from all of these palettes, that I am sure there is a dupe here and there. I think there are nine color groups of three, or 27 tiny pans of eye shadow. There are also two blushes and ten lip glosses in the Pop palette.

Teeny, tiny Pop shadows

Teeny, tiny Pop shadows

I also have the Tarte True Blood palette and these eye shadows are a good size. Encased in cardboard, my husband cut the box at the seams. I trimmed away more cardboard and placed the eye shadow palette, papery and all, into a shallow pool of rubbing alcohol. The last palette I  de-potted was by Toki-Doki. I grabbed a three wick candle and held the plastic tray over it. The glue loosened up fast but there was A LOT of glue.

So cute... not for long.

So cute… not for long.

The classy way to de-pot- at least the house smelled pretty.

The classy way to de-pot- at least the house smelled pretty.

Once I got a few pans out of the palettes, I soaked cotton balls in rubbing alcohol and wiped the back of each pan until it was free of glue residue. I even scraped some of the pans with a plastic butter knife. My fingers were getting stuck together.

Glue on a Toki Doki eye shadow. These took forever.

Glue on a Toki Doki eye shadow. These took forever.

I tested some of the pans in the palettes. The Tarina Tarantino pans stuck right in and I didn’t need to put magnets on them. The Pop eye shadows were another story. I tried to group 2-3 to a magnet, peeled back the paper to reveal the adhesive on the magnet, and prayed that they would stick. The pans didn’t really fight and the palettes started to come together. I think the easiest was the lip colors. They all fit nicely in the small Z Palette. I even lined that palette, adhesive side up, and put the colors right in.

Lips in progress

Lips in progress

Perfect fit!

Perfect fit!

Once I completely de-potted everything, I started to place the pans in the Z Palettes. It’s kind of like a puzzle. I moved things around, until I got everything I wanted in them. There were a few rejects. I figured I didn’t need another matte black shadow or cranberry shimmer.  Two small silvery shadows also had to disappear. I threw out the blushes, too. I won’t use them.

They did not get picked for the team.

They did not get picked for the team.

And the lessons I have learned:

1) De-potting is a tedious process. I needed to get it done TODAY and spent at least three hours taking care of business. I suggest doing bit by bit. DO NOT DO WHAT I DID.

2) The pans get VERY hot when heated. Get a tweezer and be careful.

3) A deep coated paper plate is your friend. You can pour a shallow layer of rubbing alcohol into one and soak the pans to loosen the glue. Put the pans in first so your eye shadows won’t get wet.

Getting dirty in a Dixie.

Getting dirty in a Dixie.

4) It’s no big deal if your eye shadows do get alcohol on them. They dry.

5) If you cracked or broke an eye shadow, it can probably be salvaged. Carefully put the remnants back into the pan and add rubbing alcohol. It will bind the eye shadow and the shadow will look muddy. Gently smooth it out with your finger and let dry. It will be as good as new!

6) Be discerning. Some eye shadows in bigger palettes will not get used (admit it). You can throw a few away.

7) You can cut the magnets if necessary but the pans may pop up a bit in the palette.

8) There are several methods of de-potting. It depends on what brand of eye shadow you have and the type of case. Do your research.

9) Wear an old tee-shirt and I would cover the surface you will use. I did. Still had a lot of clean up.

10) This shit is messy.

Below are my completed palettes:

The rectangles are Pop, the circles are Tarantino, and the one lonely square is Tarte.

The rectangles are Pop, the circles are Tarantino, and the one lonely square is Tarte.

This is a mix of Tarte and Toki Doki. There is also some Tarantino and one lone Mary Kay eye shadow in this palette.

This is a mix of Tarte and Toki Doki. There is also some Tarantino and one lone Mary Kay eye shadow in this palette. The lumpy shadows were fixed with rubbing alcohol.

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

10 thoughts on “I’ve Gone to De-Pot.

  1. I LOVE Z-Palettes!!! So handy…I have quite a few and am debating depotting my UD Book of Shadows IV. I hardly ever use it because it is so huge and bulky!

  2. Z palettes are the shiz! I actually like de-potting, even though I agree it gets really messy. I just like downsizing and seeing how much packaging and space I save! I use Goo Gone to take care of the excess dried glue on the bottom of the pans.

Leave a Reply

