Mary Kay is Not Just for Your Mom Anymore.

Mary Kay Ash

Mary Kay Ash (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I went to a Mary Kay party a number of months ago, pre-hoochie days. A good friend was hosting and her mother-in-law, Diane, was the consultant. Never having been to a cosmetics party (I’m full of surprises, aren’t I?) I was pleasantly surprised at how much went on. First off, we cleansed our faces and Diane dished out portions of moisturizer and face primer. She handed out clean brushes and headbands, and we applied colors she suggested. She gave us some tips and tricks from the school of Mary Kay. It was a lot of fun- I was with my friends, there was sangria, the summer was just starting, and I purchased a number of products, from skin care to eye make-up. I used them for a bit and the moisturizer didn’t work out for me but the colors worked well all summer. I even ordered the magnetic palette in order to customize what I use.

The outside of my compact.

The outside of my compact.

The holidays rolled around and Diane sent me an adorable flat make-up bag with a red gloss (which you know I love), hand cream, and a few other samples. BUT it was during my birthday week that Diane sent me a plethora of products to try. I was so surprised (and happy!) and I want to share some of my thoughts with you.

I have been very sad since I finished my NYX HD Eye Shadow Primer. I have tried a few and lied to myself that they did the job. Diane sent me Mary Kay’s Eye Primer. It is fragrance free. What I like about it is that it dries very quickly and is pretty sheer. It holds eye shadow in place all day and though it works will all eye shadow, I find that more vibrant eye shadows do not look as bright. It doesn’t irritate my eyes, which is a plus. ($12 US .3 OZ tube)

Mary Kay Eye Primer- holds eye shadow and dries sheer.

Mary Kay Eye Primer- holds eye shadow and dries sheer.

What is eye primer without eye shadow? Of course, Diane sent me three colors of Mary Kay Mineral Eye Color. She went more neutral in this case, which was very smart! I have used them a few times and I have to say that the shadows go on smoothly and last a long time with the primer. They are very silky, pleasant to apply, and the colors are on trend. Honey Spice is a shimmering beige, Hazelnut, a true light to medium brown, and Cinnabar, a reddish brown. (Mary Kay Mineral Eye Color Single $6.50 US)

Three times a charm!

Three times a charm! From top: Honey Spice, Hazelnut, Cinnabar

A face is never complete without a great lip. I rarely use lip liner but when I do I try to keep it natural. In my birthday package, I received Mary Kay Lip Liner in Neutral. It goes with most lip colors and creates a base so color stays on your lips and doesn’t wander. (Mary Kay Lip Liner $12 US)

Spicy lip liner!

This color doesn’t take sides.

When I am ready to pucker up, I usually go for a red pout. Mary Kay Creme Lipstick in Apple Berry is a lovely fusion of shimmer, berry, and red. It isn’t loud but really soft and pretty.I have to say that it didn’t bleed and was long wearing.

Pucker Up!

Pucker Up!

All in all, I am very pleased with the Mary Kay products I tried. I asked Diane if it was okay if I posted her website. If you would like to check out any Mary Kay products, feel free to pay her a visit http://www.marykay.com/dleschina/en-US/Pages/default.aspx?lcov=1

My full compact!

My full compact! The colors on the left are the ones mentioned in this post.

*These products were sent to me as a gift and had no bearing on my review. I am not personally affiliated with Mary Kay or any other cosmetic company. I just like to try stuff!

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

9 thoughts on “Mary Kay is Not Just for Your Mom Anymore.

      • Its really good. I dont care for the balm (I bought it in a set not sure if they are also sold separately) the balm was basically just like petroleum jelly to me.
        I use the mask every day as im prepping my face for makeup. Its my first step after washing my face. Then afyer a few mins I gently scrub the product off my lips and apply my nivea balm until its time for lipstick! Its super easy and my lips are never dry anymore!

Leave a Reply

