Like Sands Through The Hourglass…

Emotions (Mariah Carey song)

Emotions (Mariah Carey song) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I finally tried OPI Liquid Sand Polish from the Man Repeller curated GlossyBox. The liquid sand polish is from the Mariah Carey collaboration with OPI. I received “Can’t Let Go”- a purple matte glitter. Cue Mariah, “Oooh hoooo… Can’t let go…. Oooh baby… Ahhh (in Mariah’s 8 octave voice/scream/screech).”
Maybe it’s because I started doing my nails at 9:55 PM EST. Maybe it’s because I don’t want to use a quick dry topcoat because it will make the matte glitter polish shiny. Or maybe, just maybe the polish just stinks. I know the Silver Nail reviewed the polishes and I read her post. She has much more patience than me but I found the swatches to be gorgeous and this woman knows her nail polish. Seriously! Check out her post when you HAVE the time- that means just do it http://thesilvernail.wordpress.com/?s=liquid+sand.

Oh no, I just can't get you out of my mind. I never can say goodbye

Oh no, I just can’t get you out of my mind. I never can say goodbye

I applied a thin coat and it covered but seemed a bit streaky. I applied coat #2 and messed up four nails. Both thumbs and pointer fingers, not to mention my left pinkie. Annoying.

The overall effect is pretty. I like the texture and it isn’t loud or flashy but edgy enough that I can wear it to work and still feel cool. Yes, I still like to feel cool. I guess that means I shouldn’t bring my portable CD player and my Mariah Carey “Emotions” CD. I’m kidding. Well, maybe I’m not. Anyway, if you like textured polish and have a bit of patience, give these a go.

Picture was taken the next morning with flash.

Picture was taken the next morning with flash.

Update: I did my nails Wednesday night. By Friday, I needed to cover up some chips. I also suggest getting some drying drops. I bought cheap ones at Sally Beauty Supply. It didn’t seem to change the color and help me not nick the polish before it dried.

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

8 thoughts on “Like Sands Through The Hourglass…

  1. The Milani texture polishes I tried had some noticeable chipping issues within a few days as well. Guess that just comes with the territory where these are concerned :/

Leave a Reply

