Man Repelling Birch Box?!

Okay, okay… I have had my GlossyBox for over two weeks and I really couldn’t try anything because I got sick. Today, I’m going to empty two subscriptions boxes with one lipstick swipe- GlossyBox The Man Repeller Edition and Birch Box February.

I ordered the Man Repeller curated box because MR it is a cool blog about fashion- it’s a little twisted which is why I like it. GlossyBox has shipping issues. Boxes come late, I am always worried I won’t get it, customer service is pretty impossible, and having OCD, I worry someone has managed to mess with my subscription and credit card. Paranoia aside, I got my GlossyBox on a Saturday morning. Actually, I got two of them.

The GlossyBox magazine, squared.

The GlossyBox magazine, squared.

Two, you ask? Yes, I was pretty curious as to why I got two boxes and of course, I thought they charged me twice. They didn’t- GlossyBox sent out an email, assuring that subscribers were not charged for the second box and to keep and enjoy it! I would have liked if the boxes differed a bit more than they did, though! My sister got  the second box and I only took one product from it that I knew she would not use.

Contents did not explode, considering there are two of everything!

Contents did not explode, considering there were two of everything in my Glossyboxes.

Today, I received the February Birch Box, which stinks as usual. I’m really so annoyed with BirchBox. Can’t wait to say good-bye. I’ll give you a quick rundown of the products and some pictures, too. I finally got a new camera, so I just might start taking real photos soon.

GlossyBox Contents:

I just realized the sticker comes off of the box. Excellent. I will stick it on my forehead.

I just realized the sticker comes off of the box. Excellent. I will stick it on my forehead.

Sebastian Professional Potion 9: I mix hair cream with my gel, so this will get used eventually. It is a nice size, too, at 1.7 FL OZ/ 50 ml.

Fresh Umbrian Clay Mattifying Serum: The product I took out of my sister’s GB because I am a greasy beast. The tube mentions the serum controls shine. Sold.

Estee Lauder Sumptuous Extreme Lash Multiplying Mascara in 01 Extreme Black: The name says it all and will it multiply by two since I got two boxes?

Le Metier De Beaute Replenishing Daily Solution: SPF 50 is good, described as “rich and emollient” bad for this oil heiress. My mom will get this packet.

Narciso Rodriguez for Her Eau de Toilette: I wear this. It is musky and warm.

And the TWO full size products are…

Liquid Sand by O.P.I. in “Can’t Let Go”: I was excited to see this in the Man Repeller box. It is from the Mariah Carey collection and is a beautiful blue/purple depending on the light. It’s a matte glitter. I’ll let you know! $8 US

I have to admit when I read the name of the polish, I almost peed myself.

I have to admit when I read the name of the polish, I almost peed myself.

Tarte Glamazon Pure Performance Lipstick in Fierce: I am snapping my fingers in a Z formation. I love this color. It is a bright red. My sister got Wild, a cool red which suits her better. This lipstick is $26 US, so alone it covers the GlossyBox cost.

Fierce! Lipstick

Fierce! Lipstick

Birch Box will be quick.

At least I got the polish I saw in the sneak peek.

At least I got the polish I saw in the sneak peek.

Vasanti Brighten Up! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator: It has papaya, micro-crystals, and aloe. It’s a scrub and a full size tube is $34 US for 120 ml. The sample is 20g.

Lancome La Base Pro Perfecting Make-Up Primer with Smoothing Effect: $42 for a full size bottle on the Lancome website, this primer is supposed to smooth out your bumps, lines, wrinkles, creases, pores, low self-esteem, bad body image- oh! Sorry! Ranting.  I have a few primers. My favorite is by Too Faced so I will most likely pass this along.

Color Club Professional Nail Laquer in  Wild Cactus: A pretty emerald green in a mini-version. I like CCP so I will use this up. BirchBox sells it for $8 US but there is a nearby store that sells it for $6 US.

Have and Have

Have and Have

Miss Jessie’s Pillow Soft Curls: I use this already and have a bunch of samples. It smells like Downy, cuts frizz, and makes big, bouncy curls. 8.5 oz is $22 US.

Ghirardelli Caramel Chocolate Square: Love these.

This box was not worth $10, even with shipping. Just sayin’.

I got my ipsy bag this week but I wasn’t impressed. It was still better than BirchBox. I really don’t like BirchBox anymore. Can’t you tell?

Keep Calm & Primp On!

12 thoughts on “Man Repelling Birch Box?!

  1. How much is the GlossyBox every month? I just received my first Ipsy and I was only mildly impressed, but I like the products I’ve used so far. And I’m kind of the same way about Birchbox, I keep wanting to cancel it – but I can never say no to beauty products! I also receive Julep and they came out with a beauty box instead of the nail polish, but I can’t decide if I’m willing to change it or not!

Leave a Reply

