A-HA with AHA’s!

When I was a kid, alpha hydroxy acids were just starting to make waves in the beauty world. I only remember because it was the late 80s and the commercial was always on when I was at my grandmother’s house. She probably was watching a game show or something and since women were  the beauty product target, the commercial was on a lot. The brand advertised eventually disappeared and though fruit acids are considered great exfoliators, I have not really used them. I do use Caudalie’s Vinoperfect Enzymatic Peel which is serious and makes me look brighter in ten minutes but this is not about Caudalie. This post is about Garnier USA and their new product, Skin Renew Dark Spot Overnight Peel.

Lovely box!

Lovely box!

I received a bottle of Garnier Skin Renew Spot Overnight Peel from BzzAgent.com. It was sent to me complimentary. I happen to think BzzAgent is really cool. I’ve gotten to try some new cereal and veggie burgers, all free. I was happy to finally get a beauty product- not that I’m complaining. Last night I threw on a face mask and some pore strips (the Rite-Aid brand if you need to know) just to brighten up my complexion. After being sick, I was looking a little dull and wanted to brighten up. Since I got the Skin Renew Dark Spot Overnight Peel yesterday, I figured it was a prime opportunity to try it out.

This is me last night.As you can see, I party hard.

This is me last night.As you can see, I party hard.

Glycolic peels are supposed to gently exfoliate skin and help fade dark spots, brighten and even out skin tone, and smooth skin texture. Skin Renew Overnight Peel claims to be gentle and can be used every night. Sounds easy enough, right? Using it overnight, I should have glowing, brighter, and more even toned skin. After four weeks, dark spots and discoloration should be more diminished  and will look more uniform and smoother.

There is A LOT of information on the box.

There is A LOT of information on the box.

I always make this face when applying products.

I always make this face when applying products.

The Skin Renew Overnight Peel comes in a pretty green bottle with a pump. Like most Garnier products, it has a pleasant scent- something between fruit and floral. As for texture, the peel reminds me of a serum. It is clear and really not thick. I pumped some on the back of my hand and it started to creep right on down towards my thumb. I applied it to my face and it didn’t feel terribly goopy. It was not greasy (a plus in my book) and non-comedogenic and will not clog pores. After a few minutes I noticed that it did feel a little sticky and I was afraid I would dry out (shocking!) and applied a light moisturizer and my usual eye cream.

The bottle is 1.6 FL OZ/48 ml

The bottle is 1.6 FL OZ/48 ml

Can be a creeper...

Can be a creeper…

When I woke up this morning, I washed my face with Cetaphil. My skin feels really soft and a bit tight so I might have to actually moisturize. I am not sure how much glowing I will do today but the texture of my skin feels good. I think that in a few weeks I will see a difference but you never know! Oh! Another thing- make sure you use SPF during the day when using any peel. A peel leaves skin more vulnerable to sun damage and you do not want to burn.

I'm only one cup of coffee in. I need at least another 10 oz before I'm likable.

I’m only one cup of coffee in. I need at least another 10 oz before I’m likable.

Garnier Skin Renew Overnight Peel is available at most mass retailers for $16.99 US. Many thanks to BzzAgent.com for my free bottle!

darkSpot

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

2 thoughts on “A-HA with AHA’s!

  1. I love bzz agent also!!! I just got my first 2 products from them. The Glade Expressions mist spray and the Oil Diffuser. I will soon be posting coupons for $2 and $4 off, respectively, for my readers!!! Your skin looks amazing! Kat

Leave a Reply

