Eye Have It!

I am still having fun with my European goods from Lindz, GirlintheGlasses.com, and started using the Kiko Milano Colour Seduction Eye Shadow Palette she sent in our swap.

I love this box! Looks so luxe!

I love this box! Looks so luxe!

This palette is really great because it is the “Sensuous Burgundy” palette, which is different from my usual eye shadows. I tend to go more neutral and throw in a pop of color here and there, or I use purple. The burgundy feels neutral enough for daily wear, yet gives that bit of punch without being obvious.

The palette name and the description of the palette.

The palette name and the description of the palette.

The palette was in a velvety pouch, which I removed and put away because I need to get into my make-up fast. This eye shadow case is very sturdy and looks beautiful. For the price Kiko Milano charges, I can’t wrap my head around how they can make such well-made and attractive palettes. This eye shadow case looks better than Maybelline’s or Cover Girl’s and costs 5 Euro, roughly $6.76 US. A Revlon Colorstay Eye Shadow Quad is $7.99 US on Ulta.com. (They are offering buy one, get one 50% off right now, so if you bought two, the price of each would be comparable. BUT STILL! Look at the packaging)

Brushed gold and it is very sturdy but not at all very heavy.

Brushed gold and it is very sturdy but not at all heavy.

The palette includes four colors that can be used wet or dry. I tried the palette both ways today and took my pictures at 7 AM before I left for work.

The colours! The photo on the left is without a flash.

The colours! The photo on the left is without a flash.

I started with ELF Eyelid Primer. I picked it up because it was $1.00 US but I miss my NYX HD Primer. I find the ELF Primer to only be okay- I don’t think it holds eye shadow as well as the NYX. I let it dry and then applied the color on the upper right side of the palette. The picture without flash looks a bit more rose gold and with flash, a truer gold. I think that this might be a good gauge for how it may look in natural light.

Top picture is no flash.

Top picture is no flash.

Then I grabbed Urban Decay‘s Eye Shadow Transforming Potion. I’m not sure they still make it but one end has a thin brush and the other end is a wider brush. I used the thin end because I wasn’t quite sure how strong the color would be and dipped it in the darkest shadow in the palette (right hand bottom corner.) It took me a few times to get the line I desired on my upper lid. I think I will just use water next time and save the UD Transforming Potion for loose pigments. I drew a thin line across my top lid and this is what I got…

Pardon the no mascara and unplucked brows.

Pardon the no mascara and unplucked brows.

The color is subtle and I think it’s because I really don’t take my time in the morning! I grabbed my Sephora Nano Pure Beige Eye Pencil and added some to the corners of my eyes and along my brow bones. (It really makes a difference. I swear.) I curled my lashes and applied a coat of Clinique‘s High Impact Extreme Volume Mascara (in black). The brush is HUGE and I do like it but the formula is a little thick.

UD Transforming Potion, Clinique High Impact Volume Mascara, and Sephora Nano Eye Pencil in Pure Beige

UD Transforming Potion, Clinique High Impact Volume Mascara, and Sephora Nano Eye Pencil in Pure Beige. Can you spy my Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler?

Here is the final eye look. I only took eyes up- I’ll spare you the rest of my face! Oh! The bottom right picture was taken when I got home from work at 4:30 PM. There was a bit of fallout but not terrible and it did wear off a bit. I really blame the primer.

Here's looking at you, kid.

Here’s looking at you, kid.

My overall opinion: I really enjoy using this palette and I will use it over and over again. The shadows are very smooth and silky. I wish they were a bit more pigmented but I need to work with them some more before making a final call. Thanks again to Lindz for being so awesome and sending me Kiko Milano Colour Seduction Eye Shadow Palette.

6 thoughts on “Eye Have It!

  1. This sounds like another good product from this brand. I’m going to see if I can find this in the UK.
    p.s -Your lashes look super long in the middle picture! x

Leave a Reply

