Kisses With Kiko Milano

I’ve mentioned more than once that I got a package from Germany from Lindz over at GirlintheGlasses.com and this past week I was ridiculously ill. Yesterday was the first day in about a week that I left my house for a bit and I was able to put a bit of make-up on my face.  Lindz was able to pick up some goods at Kiko Milano. I cannot say how jealous I am over this. Kiko Milano is only available in a few countries (Italy, Spain, Germany, Portugal, France, and the UK) and I honestly had never heard of it before Lindz told me she was getting me a few Kiko products.

I really appreciate the Kiko mission: to allow all women to treat themselves to the most innovative cosmetics without having to sacrifice their budget. To give all their customers the chance to experiment in all areas of make up and treatments with top quality shades, packaging and formulas which are always on trend. Finally, to create a beauty care concept which is able to rewrite the rules of cosmetics: quality is no longer synonymous with high prices. With KIKO, professional luxury is an exciting reality you can touch. For every budget. I don’t know how I missed Kiko Milano stores during my travels. I’ve been to Europe about seven times in the past 10 years and do not recall seeing one, which is total BS because I sniff out cosmetics everywhere. I’ll stop dwelling because my favorite American in Germany managed to soothe my agitation over this and sent a gorgeous eye shadow palette, lipstick, and two nail polishes from Kiko Milano. I’m going to describe the first product that I have really gotten some use out of: Kiko Milano Jelly Core Lipstick.

I will start by explaining I have an unhealthy obsession with lip products. I carry lip balms in every pocket of any jacket, my pocketbook always has at least two balms, tinted and not tinted, and at least one lipstick or lip gloss. I have to remind myself to clean my bag out because it usually weighs as much as a sack or two of potatoes. Even the hubs has said to me that my bag was heavy.  I’ve used the Jelly Core Lipstick on a few occasions and like it more and more every time I use it. It seems that the Jelly Core lipsticks were a limited addition and are no longer available on their website. (I am unsure if they ship stateside but at least I can read the descriptions.) I did find an Italian blog, Sunny Make-Up (http://makeupsunny.blogspot.com ) with a little more information, so I will relay what I can via my eyes and Google translate.

Great packaging!

Great packaging!

I love how sleek the tube is. It really is shiny and looks so good while applying! I received “01 Tender Rosewood” which is a slightly shimmery neutral. I like how it is a darker nude. I have a hard time with nude lipstick. Some of them are too pink, some too orange. This color seems to have taken on a darker beige with enough pink to enhance my natural lip color. In the center of the lipstick is the jelly core that serves as a gloss component. The lipstick is very creamy and hydrating. The texture is a bit thick which is great  because as the jelly core lends gloss, the lipstick does not wear off as quickly. In fact, I find this lipstick to have a nice lasting quality. I don’t need to apply it nearly as often as I thought because it is more pigmented. Well played, Kiko Milano.

Kiko Milano Jelly Core Lipstick 01 Tender Rosewood

Kiko Milano Jelly Core Lipstick 01 Tender Rosewood

Take a look at my swatches below.

Top is without flash.

Top is without flash.

With the flash, the color seems  a bit more sheer.

Top without flash

Top without flash

On my lips, I find it to be complimentary to my skin tone without washing me out- dangerous territory. (Remind me of the time my mother told me I looked like a corpse with light lipstick. I was 15.)

One more thing: a year or two ago Avon released Shine Attract Lipstick, except the color is the core and clear gloss surrounds it. I have a few of them and found P501 Nude Love in my make-up bag. These are MUCH different from Kiko Milano’s Jelly Core Lipstick. In fact, this one is no where near a dupe but is great if you like the feel of a non-sticky gloss.  This lipstick is is way more sheer and I think if I applied more I would get more color.

Avon Shine Attract Lipstick in P501 Nude Love

Avon Shine Attract Lipstick in P501 Nude Love

I have some more products to review from the swap plus some other things I managed to get my dirty hands on. Until then!

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

4 thoughts on “Kisses With Kiko Milano

Leave a Reply

