Idiot Savant Nails

I know the title of this post is kind of funny but it is pretty fitting with my current nail experiment. I know I have mentioned that my nails are awful and I have done a lot to make sure that they don’t get destroyed anymore. Thursday night I decided I would paint my nails again. I wanted something sparkly, as I love anything that glitters, and it had to be easy. I am humbled when I see the nail art that goes on by my fellow bloggers. I am always impressed, not only by how gorgeous the nails look but the patience involved.

I used four products for this nail style:

Nail Tek II Intensive Therapy as base and top coats. I like Nail Tek products- they are a bit more money but they do work.

Color Club Put a Pin in It- This is one product I got in a Birch Box that is really cool. It is a metallic silver but it almost looks gold sometimes. (And yes, I am still pissed at Birch Box- I read other reviews of November boxes and mine clearly sucked in comparison. Pardon the language, but I am still annoyed.)

Sinful Colors Ice Dream is a silver and teal glitter polish. It reminds my of snowflakes and twinkling lights. I tend to stay away from Sinful Colors, as the polishes are inconsistent but this is a pretty sweet one, with silver micro-glitter and teal round glitter.

Top row- Sinful Colors in Ice Dream- the left is without the flash.Bottom row is Color Club Put a Pin in It, left with flash.

Top row- Sinful Colors in Ice Dream- the left is without the flash.
Bottom row is Color Club Put a Pin in It, left with flash.

Nails Inc London Caviar Topcoat is the best quick dry topcoat in existence. My nails are dry in 45 seconds and for a person that lacks patience, that is very quick.

I started with the Nail Tek and let it dry for a minute. I then applied two coats of Color Club Put a Pin in It, allowing some drying time between coats. Then I applied Sinful Colors Ice Dream all over each nail. I wanted the glitter to be thicker on top and thin towards the cuticle, so I applied some more Ice Dream in a thick coat on the tips. (I listened to some of you that suggested it!) I gave it a few minutes, applied some more Nail Tek and then the Caviar Topcoat.

I went to bed an hour later. I was afraid of bed bumps. When I woke the next morning, they looked great. I went to work and a very close friend said, “Hey, your nails look good.” Then yesterday, another friend said to me, “Wow! who did your nails? They caught my eye!” When I told her I did them, she wasn’t terribly surprised but wanted to know if I could do hers. Even my sister, the one most critical of my beauty experiments, thought they were pretty. She asked me “How did you do that?” Mmmhmm. She does her own nails a lot and does them pretty well. I’m not giving up my secrets too easily, Shazzer!

The final product pre-clean up- they look better in person.

The final product pre-clean up- they look better in person.

The good thing is that this look has held up pretty well. I can’t wait to try some different color combinations. Any suggestions?

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

10 thoughts on “Idiot Savant Nails

Leave a Reply

