Peel off that Dead Skin!

I love to exfoliate. I love, love, love it. There is nothing like shedding that old skin off like a snake- hisssss! and bringing that newer skin to the surface. You see, ever since I hit my 30s, I feel like I’ve lost some of my natural glow and vibrancy. My skin just isn’t as radiant. As one of my dear friends would say, “Le sigh.” Over the summer I bought Caudalie’s Vinoperfect Enzymatic Peel Masque after trying it at the PH event at Brooklyn Make-Up Studio. It really brightened my skin and made me feel like a new woman. Unfortunately, it has been lost in the Bermuda Triangle of my bedroom. I will find it… soon I hope. In the meantime, I have some samples of some AHA skin masks. (Every time I see AHA, I think of the lotion from the 1980s when I think people got smart to how good they are.) I dug out the baby tube that I got from my Barneys‘ gift in September. It is REN Glycolactic Radiance Renewal Mask. It’s $55 for a 50 ML bottle and it is sold out on the REN site. Sephora carries it on their site, so if you’re interested you can check it out over there. Scurrying along…

This stuff is supposed to renew my complexion, reduce the appearance of fine lines, and make me more radiant. Let’s see…

This is the before. (Pretty... BLECH!)

This is the before. (Pretty… BLECH!)

I just realized how much I miss the little summer glow I get. What the heck is this? And I have to thank my Sicilain great grandfather for the schnoz. Thanks, Nonno,

I started by squeezing the tube. You can do this from the top, as from the bottom of the tube makes you miss all the precious product  in the top. (Note the sarcasm. Someone once told me how a couple squeezes a tube of toothpaste will tell you if you will stay married. Hmmmm…)

It says there might be a slight tingle. I hope so!

It says there might be a slight tingle. I hope so!

I started to apply. It was pretty thin, orange, and reminded me of marmalade. It was a little sticky but it wasn’t terrible to apply. I managed to spread it all over my face without any issues. The tube warns that it might tingle but I had no burning sensation. I was hoping for one, but such is life.

Orange marmalade? Nope- it is indeed the mask. That's me after I've applied it.

Orange marmalade? Nope- it is indeed the mask. That’s me after I’ve applied it.

The mask stayed on for ten minutes. I might have gone a little over but I wasn’t irritated. I removed it with a wet cloth. Below is me after. I tried to look angelic. I’m not sure how well that worked out.

Soft as a baby's...

Soft as a baby’s…

Looking at this again, I am noticing the start of crow’s feet. God help me. Laugh lines, too. Is this an FML moment?

The verdict: REN Glycolactic Radiance Renewal Mask seems pretty good. It isn’t my Caudalie mask, as I didn’t notice extreme improvement in my skin’s condition. I have another use in the sample, so I will give it another try. It doesn’t help that my skin is temperamental this time of year.

What do you do for your skin in the winter?

Keep Calm and Primp On! XOXO

22 thoughts on “Peel off that Dead Skin!

  1. This winter I’m trying to be more diligent with my exfoliating and I have continued my search for a good non-greasy moisturizer for oily/dry combination skin. I fear I’ll never get it right. I am contemplating giving the Philosophy Keep the Peace moisturizer (I had a sample ages ago and it seemed nice) or the Antipodes Vanilla Pod Hydrating Day Cream a try next, but I just can’t decide. I feel like they’re both a bit of an investment. Any thoughts?

  2. I’ll have to try this, your after shot is great, but having said that I think you have great skin in the before shot too.
    I wear less make up in the winter as I hagot bells palsy as a child (I’ll explain if you’ve never heard of it) and the cold makes my face droop and my eyes water, I am so paranoid about it so I wear a scarf half way up to my face to cover my mouth. I just use plenty of moisturiser and a little bb cream most days.

    • Thanks! It’s good stuff. It helps you shed your skin. I know what Bells Palsy is- I know of a few people that had it. I do know about the eyes watering- last night my husband thought I was crying. My right eye drips so much.

  3. To be honest, your skin always looks flawless to me so I couldn’t tell much of a difference! (in the sense that I do not know if it can make your skin look better than it already does ^.^)

Leave a Reply

