ipsy Box! WooHoo!

After my negative experience with my recent Birch Box, I decided I needed to try a new subscription service. I get GlossyBox but they are $21 US a month. The year is roughly $200 US and I don’t know, I’m trying to wrap my head around spending that much and their shipping is less than desirable. Luckily, I get Allure Magazine emails and there was an article on none other than beauty boxes. I went to a few of the websites they suggested (Beauty Army, ipsy, etc) and decieded ipsy really gave the best deal. At $10 US a month, you get a cosmetics bag (a novel idea!) filled with full sized and deluxe sample sized products. The shipping was also speedy. I got my bag within a week of placing my order.

Oh, happy day!

I don’t think these boxes are “curated” (that’s what Birch Box wrote in the email they sent me regarding my disappointment for my recent deliveries) for the individual but I think the products sent to me would work on pretty much anyone. This month’s bag is Party Perfect! and includes soiree friendly products.

Let’s begin:

Eyes and tips!

theBalm Matte Eye Shadow in Matt Batali: This eye shadow is one of the nine colors in theBalm’s Meet Matt(e) Eye Shadow palette. A matte deep brown, this one can be used as a liner or in your crease for definition. theBalm’s shadows are smooth and the colors aren’t ground-breaking but user friendly.

Benefit’s They’re Real Mascara: ipsy sent a deluxe sample tube. I bought one last month at Macy’s for $10, but this ups the ante on this box. I haven’t tried this mascara yet. I’ve heard mixed reviews but now that I have two, I guess I will have to!

Nailtini Nail Lacquer in Millionaire: The idea behind Nailtini is to mix your polishes and create your own nail look- the box had all drink related instructions. I enjoy glitter polish and this one is rose gold glitter with teal tinsels thrown in. The polish is festive for the holiday season and will make a great accent nail.

Moxie Starlet!

BareMinerals marvelous Moxie Lip Gloss in Dare Devil: I love BareMinerals’ Buxom line, so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from Moxie. This is a deluxe sample but I like that since I change my lip color all of the time. Dare Devil is a sparkling burgundy and is more sheer than I thought. The gloss is light and not too sticky. It has a nice shine and a tingle. Like the Buxom glosses, I guess this has lip plumping properties. Dare Devil is perfect for a night out and great for a wintery day look.

Starlet Intense Eyeliner in Chocolate:I have yet to try this pencil but the color is nice and saturated. The pencil seems easy enough to blend and will accompany the matte shadow I received to the next shin-dig. I plan on doing a brown/copper smokey look- the gray and black can be a bit harsh on me. I will keep you posted.

Though I love the bag, ipsy is also big on social networking. I already write this blog so posting videos and pictures of myself on their site might be a little extra work. Maybe I can do a monthly ipsy post and use it here. Oh, decisions, decisions…

I can’t wait to share my next delivery with you!

Keep Calm and Primp On! XOXO

12 thoughts on “ipsy Box! WooHoo!

  1. I have the meet mat(te) palette and enjoy it a lot. As for they’re real! I like it but it took a bit to get used to the brush…I tend to like the bristle brushes better than the new plastic type. Also- it’s not waterproof but it’s a B to get off. Make sure you have an oil based remover!

  2. Looks like a great box – really good value for the price! I had to check them out and I didn’t know they were available in Canada until now. Thanks for posting, I just might have to get another subscription!

Leave a Reply

