Violet! You’re turning Violet!

Lots of goodies in here!

On a recent trip to a department store, I managed to pick up Clinique‘s Black Tie Violet gift set. This was a steal for $39.50 US. There are several products in the set that are full size and a new one that I can’t wait to destroy… uh, I mean use.

The lovely kit came in this hot pink cosmetic bag with a silver “Clinique” tag. It’s a good size, nice for travel, and since it is nylon, easy to clean. I hate when my make-up bags get dirty.

It is in the bag.

Now, here is the fun! There are two mascaras in this kit. The first is High Impact Extreme Volume Mascara in Extreme Black. Oooh. Ahhh. This is a new product (or so I am told) and I haven’t used it yet but I always like volumizing mascara and Clinique rarely disappoints me. The other mascara is Bottom Lash Mascara in Black. It has a teeny brush so you can get the little lashes at the outer and inner corners of your lashes. I’ve always wanted to try it, so now I can! I’m not done! There is also Cream Shaper for Eyes in Mink. Looks like a liner, goes on soft and leaves a deep color. Mink is a nice compliment to the purples in the kit- I will get to that next.

Eye got it!

No Clinique set would be complete with an eye shadow palette. This one does not disappoint.  It is a quad of Colour Surge Eye Shadows in Deep Purple, Taupe, Crystal Berry, and Soft Pink. You can highlight, define, or have a natural look with these shades. I have no swatches but trust me, they are fun!

Not as bad as a purple nurple.

Finally, Clinique threw in a face moisturizer-  Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief. It is a gel and I am happy they have branched out and no longer just give out Dramatically Different! I remember when I would get the free gifts, they had mini bottles and you could never get all the product out, Now, the full size has a pump and the trial sizes are squeeze tubes. Since this is a gel, I can probably use it on my greasy face. I use their Dramatically Different Gel and like it very much. This probably will leave a bigger moisture punch.

Keeping with the moisture theme, there is a Chubby Stick Moisturizing Lip Colour Balm in Woppin’ Watermelon. I have used the Chubby Stick before and I really like them. They leave a nice sheen and great color that can be built on.

This kit would make a great gift and it’s a great price! Check it out!

Keep Calm & Primp On! XOXO

Mmmmm… melon!

Lips and Face!

7 thoughts on “Violet! You’re turning Violet!

  1. Ahh what a lovely set! Love the purples. And you will (hopefully) LOVE the bottom lash mascara…it’s so nice and affordable as well as it retails for 10$. I tried the maybelline lash discovery (I believe that’s the brand…definitely called lash discovery) which was a small long brush…but in the end I’d prefer to spend the extra few dollars and get the Clinique:)

  2. Oooooh this looks great, love your artistic chubby stick shot. I like the sound of the bottom lash mascara, I have difficulty catching thos little buggers in the corners.
    I’ve not tried any clinique products yet, but I think I shall be seeking out that mascara.

    • I have a few and they aren’t extremely long lasting but better than some glosses I own. Sephora has a gift set now- I think there are 4-5 chubby sticks in it and it is under $40 US- not sure what that would cost elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

