Freaked Out by Frizz? Read this.

I have yet to discuss my hair on my blog and I figured with the summer upon us, it might make for a good story. As a kid, my hair was thick but straight. It was really straight. When I turned 14 I got a perm. Then I cut the perm out. I didn’t understand why my hair looked ridiculous all the time.  My friend told me that I probably had curly hair. My life was changed forever.

I’ll tell you the truth:  Some mornings I wake up with a pompadour. It’s not cute. Most days, I can’t complain. I used to straighten my hair a lot but it was frustrating because it would curl up pretty fast. I decided to no longer fight the curl and have worn it curly for a long time. The things I do below have made my hair easier to handle. Those with straight or fine hair, read on- you never know what you’ll find.  If you have curly or wavy, there are a few things you can do:

1)Don’t wash everyday. Sounds gross in the summer, I know, but it you’re desperate just wet your hair and throw some conditioner in and give your head a good rinse after a few minutes. My rule anytime I condition is to rinse it out after I have washed my bod, face, and shaved. If your hair is thin, a clarifying shampoo is great. (Keep in mind it can fade color.) My personal favorite is Suave’s Rosemary Mint, around $2.59 a bottle.

2) I love Moroccan (Argan) Oil. It can get expensive BUT know that some of the ones for hair are not 100% pure (not that it’s bad.) If you like being “green” expect to pay upwards $30 for a 3 ounce bottle. Keep in mind, a little dab will do ya so a bottle can last a while. I do not suggest Moroccan oil for those with fine hair. It will just weigh it down. It’s great for frizz but use sparingly. I put Moroccan oil in my hair after it’s washed and before I put in any other products.

3)After I’ve put my Moroccan Oil in, I start my “products.” I usually mix a cream and a gel. I’ve been using Quidad’s Climate Control  gel for a loooong time. It really works but again, is expensive. Don’t think another one won’t work for you. For my cream, I like Carol’s Daughter Hair Milk for Curls. It smells so good. I just mix them in my hands, evenly distribute through my hair and scrunch. I sometimes throw a little extra gel in, as it acts as a barrier between your hair and fabric, like pillow cases or hats.  If I’m feeling lazy, I’ll use Dove’s Style+Care Nourishing Curls Whipped Cream Mousse.

4) I change up my products. I always use Moroccan Oil but sometimes I’ll use products by Jessicurl. Confident Coils and Rockin’ Ringlets work well. I still throw in some gel after I’ve used them. I also change up my shampoo and conditioner. I usually use Suave Coconut Anti-Dandruff shampoo and conditioner. Once I week, I wash with Miss Jessie’s Super Slip Shampoo and Jessicurl Too Shea! conditioner. One a week, I use Miss Jessie’s Rapid Recovery Treatment. I don’t really follow the directions to the letter but it’s really rich and since my hair isn’t severely dry, it’s good.

5) For styling, I’ll either put in a headband and let my curls go free. Sometimes I just pin the front back. If I’m feeling warm, I throw it in a ponytail. It looks nice with the curls but I can’t take it down because my curls will be pulled out and just look like a hot mess.

My most important tip- don’t fight your hair. It really frames your face and can make or break your look. Take care of it.

Stay glossy!

3 thoughts on “Freaked Out by Frizz? Read this.

  1. This sounds really fun and interesting I have a dental appointment Saturday, so what time is the event starting and ending?

Leave a Reply

